Batavia's Fred Gravanda crowned 31st Tonawandas USBC Senior Masters Champion
by Bruce Harrison on November 21,2016

The Tonawandas USBC Association held its 31st annual Senior Masters tournament at Tonawanda Bowling Center on Sunday, November 13, 2016. The scratch event featured some of the area's best bowlers aged 50 and over. All 29 participants bowled a three-game qualifier, after which the field was cut to the top for the eliminator-style finals matches. A total of six bowlers were selected for the finals matches, based on the 1 in 5 ratio. Two super seniors (aged 65 or over) qualified in the top six.

The qualifying round resulted in Dan Eberl leading the way with a three-game set of 729. He was closely followed by Batavia native Fred Gravanda (714). The remaining four spots for the finals were very close with Terry Kuhn Jr. (669) narrowly edging out Carl Kinyon (664), John Cierlicki (658), and Warren Bush (657).

In the first match of the first round of the eliminator-style finals, Fred Gravanda (246) and Warren Bush (202) advanced over Terry Kuhn Jr. (186). In the second first round match, John Cierlicki (160) was eliminated by Dan Eberl (209) and Carl Kinyon (248). In the second round, Fred Gravanda (224) and Carl Kinyon (215) eliminated Dan Eberl (212) and Warren Bush (192).

In the championship match, both Gravanda and Kinyon started strong with each rolling an opening three bagger. Although Gravanda was the first to break off, Kinyon's 203 was not enough, as he regained his form and rolled the final eight in a row to claim this year's title with a 279 game, a 10 pin in the 4th frame denying him of a perfect game. For his first place finish Fred Gravanda earned $300 in prize money while Carl Kinyon took home $180. Dan Eberl and Warren Bush both earned $100 each for making it to the second round of the finals. Dan Eberl also earned another $50 for being the high qualifier. John Cerlicki and Terry Kuhn Jr. both earned $70 each for making it to the first round of the finals.

Other scores of note: Dan Eberl (268,253 - 729); Fred Gravanda (244, 247 - 714); Terry Kuhn Jr. (234 - 669); Carl Kinyon (247 - 664); John Cierlicki (233, 234 - 658); Warren Bush (244 - 657); Mike Firzak (235, 236); John Masiello (259); Ken Ball (228); George Szczublewski (236); John Lagree (225); Eric Johns (247); Sam Carson (225); Dennis Illig (236).

The Tonawandas USBC Association thanks Len Pimm and his staff at Tonawanda Bowling Center for hosting this year's tournament. Please visit our website ( often for more information on upcoming tournaments and events. Also, follow us on Facebook (

This website and its content is copyright of Tonawandas USBC Association - © Tonawandas USBC Association 2011. All rights reserved.