2017 Kickoff Results
by Henry Allenbach on October 10,2017

In photo left to right; LaRae Hens-Bryant - Womens Division runner-up, Kristina Szczerbinski - Womens Division Champion, Mike Zarcone - Mens Division Champion - Joe Montante Jr. Mens Division runner-up

Manor Lanes in Tonawanda was the site for the 36th annual Tonawandas USBC Kick Off Tournament. The scratch tournament, held on Friday, August 18, features many of the top male and female bowlers of the Tonawandas Association. Six men and six women competed in the event, which was comprised of a two-game qualifying round followed by an eliminator-style final. All contestants were invited based on their accomplishments on the lanes in the 2016-2017 season.

After bowling the 2-game qualifier, the field is then cut to the top 4 scores in each division- men's and women's. In the women's division the top qualifier was LaRhonda Johnson-Williamson (433). She was followed by Lisa Bugenhagen (424), LaRae Hens-Bryant (420), and Kristina Szczerbinski (412). In the men's division the top four scores were Joe Montante Jr. (480), Chris Rathbun (473), Kevin Volker (464), and Mike Zarcone (432).

These eight bowlers then bowled a 2-game eliminator style final. In the women's division Kristina Szczerbinski' s 217 was the top score. LaRae Hens-Bryant's 198 edged out LaRhonda Johnson-Williamson by five pins for the second and final spot in the women's final. On the men's side, Joe Montante Jr. (265) and Mike Zarcone (247) advanced to the men's final.

In the first final match Kristina Szczerbinski defeated LaRae Hens-Bryant (238-213) for the women's title. The second match saw Mike Zarcone defeat Joe Montante Jr. (245-213) for the men's title.

The Tonawandas USBC association thanks Brian Russo, proprietor, and his staff at Manor Lanes for hosting this year's event. Please check our website www.tonusbc.com for more information regarding upcoming local tournaments and other general information.

This website and its content is copyright of Tonawandas USBC Association - © Tonawandas USBC Association 2011. All rights reserved.